难题: 交通污染伤财又伤人

燃烧的汽油和柴油产生大量污染物:氮氧化物(NOx) 和活性有机化合物(VOCs)有助于形成雾霾,其它活性有机化合物(VOCs)会致癌,而细微颗粒物会被肺深度吸收。

这些问题在发展中国家情况尤为严重,但即使在对污染严控的国家,相关统计数据也引人深思。例如美国,每年也有超过58,000人死于交通污染排放。

对当地健康冲击

公路附近的居民受到的健康损害最严重。一项温哥华的研究发现居住在高速公路150米内或主干道50米内的居民有超过29%的可能性死于冠状动脉心脏病。

危害不止于此,与交通污染有关的空气污染还导致中风,癌症,哮喘和其它呼吸系统疾病。儿童,婴幼儿和孕期内胚胎由于肺部未完全发育而受到的影响尤其严重。同时,西班牙研究者发现位于主干道或高速公路500米范围内的小学学生在认知能力发展上比较慢。

对地区健康冲击

影响并不仅限于本地。在特定气象条件下,氮氧化物和有机复合挥发物会进行化学反应。结果是污染物形成的雾霾会像毯子一样笼罩整个地区,或扩散到几百公里远,所产生的健康危害远大于污染起源地。

雾霾天造成上千人早亡,急症室超负荷以及健康人群的室外锻炼成为危险活动。在安大略,2006年有5940人因雾霾而早亡。很多其他国家,人数更多。例如北京, 人们呼吸雾霾与每天吸烟40支所产生的健康危害相同。

数以兆计的价格标签

根据2016世界银行报告,每年空气污染造成3.55万亿早亡费用消耗。此数值不包括与污染相关的疾病费用:医生问诊,急救室接诊,薪酬损失等更多花费。

交通是该问题的主要因素。一份经合组织报告暗示,其成员国的道路交通占空气污染所引起的医疗费用一半左右。在中国,交通排放是空气污染引起的病人死亡的最大因素之一,仅次于工业煤。

如果一个城市适合8岁儿童和80岁老人生活,那么这就是一个所有人都宜居的理想城市。 (8-80 Cities)

远景公司简介

远景公司是一家研发公司,致力于研发控制空气污染的创新科技,为全世界的家庭和社区提供健康的环境,公司位于加拿大安大略的圭尔夫市。

简报注册

联系我们

Envision SQ Inc.
111 Farquhar Street, 3rd Floor
Guelph, ON N1H 3N4
info@envisionsq.com

Problem: Traffic pollution costs dollars and lives

Burning gasoline or diesel fuel creates a slew of pollutants: nitrogen oxides (NOx) and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) that contribute to smog, other VOCs that are linked to cancer, and small particulates that penetrate deep into the lungs.

These problems are particularly serious in the developing world. But even countries with strict pollution controls face sobering statistics. In the United States, for example, more than 58,000 people die prematurely each year because of traffic emissions.

Local health impacts

Nearby residents suffer the greatest health consequences. According to a Vancouver study, people who live within 150 metres of a highway or within 50 metres of a major road are 29 per cent more likely to die from coronary heart disease.

The dangers don’t stop there, however. Traffic-related air pollution is also linked to stroke, cancer, asthma and other respiratory problems. Children, infants and unborn babies are particularly vulnerable because their lungs aren’t fully developed. Meanwhile, Spanish researchers found that students in elementary schools located within 500 metres of a major roadway or highway had slower cognitive development.

Regional health impacts

Nor are the impacts strictly local. On hot, sunny days, NOX and VOCs can undergo a series of chemical reactions. The result is smog that can blanket the entire region in pollution or get blown hundreds of kilometres, creating health impacts far from its original source.

Smoggy days lead to thousands of premature deaths, overload emergency rooms and make it dangerous for even healthy people to exercise outdoors. In Ontario, 5,940 people died prematurely because of smog in 2006. In many other countries, the toll is even higher. In Beijing, for example, breathing the smog-filled air creates the same health risks as smoking 40 cigarettes a day.

The trillion-dollar price tag

According to a 2016 World Bank report, air pollution costs $3.55 trillion in premature deaths each year. That figure doesn’t include the costs of pollution-related illness: doctor visits, emergency room admissions, lost wages and more.

Traffic is a major contributor to the problem. An OECD report suggests that road transportation accounts for roughly half of the health costs created by air pollution in member countries. In China, traffic emissions is one of the biggest causes of deaths due to air pollution, second only to industrial coal.

The good news is that reducing pollution saves lives — and money. A 2016 study estimates that each ton of NOX removed in the city of Toronto would create $650,000 in health benefits.

“If you create a city that’s good for an 8-year-old and good for an 80-year-old, you will create a successful city for everyone.” (8-80 Cities)

About Envision SQ

Envision SQ is a research and development company that creates innovative air pollution control technologies to provide healthier environments for families and communities around the world. Envision SQ is based in Guelph, Ontario, Canada.

Newsletter signup

Contact Us

111 Farquhar Street, 3rd Floor
Guelph, Ontario N1H 3N4
Canada
info@envisionsq.com